PETA DC & Little Free Library Project

At the PETA (People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals) DC volunteer party a couple of months ago, I found out about the Little Free Library Project.

The idea behind this project is to have mini libraries the size of a model one room schoolhouse and place them in various neighborhoods where anybody could take a book or leave a book for free. These mini libraries would promote literacy and a sense of community.

I thought this was one of the stupidest ideas I’ve ever heard...especially since Annandale is home to the largest library in the Fairfax County library system and there is no chance I’d go to one of these mini libraries which could house 50 random books at most, none of which might interest me, whereas at the real library, I have tens of thousands of options to choose from.

Still, PETA was looking for volunteers to place an animal rights book along with a couple of magazines in these libraries so I signed up for three locations in Annandale.

The libraries do have a decent amount of books and I suppose, they might benefit the people living near one….I, however, will stick to George Mason Regional.

Attached are the photos from my excursion through three neighborhoods.

Leave a Reply

